Change… It happens more you think

I learned something recently…  The word of the year (this year) was hashtag. It just goes to show how much language really changes, hashtag is a REALLY recent word and it’s already word of the year. Remember YOLO? That’s a word that was used a lot and yet you don’t hear it said that often anymore… And YOLO (like hashtag) came into style recently.

Language is just one if those things that changes constantly, and who knows what new words we’ll have picked up in about 10 years.

Now a question for everyone who read this through to the end. Which word do you think will be the word of the year in 2016? Leave a comment and tell me!

Thanks for reading!

TheTerminologyTitan

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Paul Madden

     /  September 22, 2015

    I’m not sure what the next ‘word of the year’ will be Matthew – I’m not sure it’s my generation that decides that!

    This is a good first post to your blog and I hope to see many more in the future.

    The one thing I picked up on that I wondered about was whether comparing ‘#’ to ‘yolo’ is a very fair comparison? Surely the ‘#’ phenomenon has already gone beyond things like ‘lol’ and ‘yolo’ etc?

    Like

    Reply
  2. Paul

     /  October 1, 2015

    Single ‘t’… sorry that caught me out!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

